Orwell Award Announcement SusanOhanian.Org Home

NCLB Outrages

Obey wants to cut RTTT $ : call with your support NOW!

Ohanian Comment: Here is something you can do today. It will take five minutes of your time. Don't wait until tomorrow. It will be too late.

I admit I'm in favor of anything that will reduce the money pot Duncan has to use for bribery. Of course my fear here is they'll use money to keep the jobs of teachers who promise to kneel at the Gates icon of excellence.

by Monty Neill

In her Education Week blog, Allyson Klein reports that Rep Obey, Chair of House Appropriations Committee, wants to cut various Race to the Top and related programs to the tune of $800m to help fund a $10b bill that would help prevent layoffs. He faces opposition from some Republicans and the Ed Dept (which says there are other places to cut).

Obey needs your support.

It is important for you to weigh in with Mr. Obey: You can call the committee office at (202) 225-2771.

As usual, no email is provided for the committee -- phoning is better anyway and takes about the same amount of time.

At least as important is to tell your own Rep. Go to http://www.house.gov, search for your Rep, call her/him (or email - they ususally have a form on the site). If your rep is on the Committee (see list below), it is very important to call her/him. And I am told by a knowledgeable lobbyist that Republicans and conservative Democrats especially need to be

I am told by several sources that Obey dislikes the US DOE's preference for competitive grants (he told Ed Week some time back that the time for such grants is when funding overall is solid, not in a crisis -- the opposite of those such as Fordham's Checker Finn who want to use the crisis to attack unions, cut the number of teachers, lower wages of educators, etc.). Gary Orfield is one of those weighing in, in favor of Obey's approach, noting the great devastation the recession/depression has wrought in CA, where he lives. Educators generally favor this approach.

Finally, the Forum on Educational Accountability has responded critically to various aspects of RTTT, some of which could be on the chopping block. FEA has not taken a stance on Obey's plan, but you could see what FEA concluded about RTTT if you want to present any more detail to Obey or your rep (and scroll down the home page to 'news releases' where you can find links to FEA materials on RTTT).

The main thing, tho, is your voice on the overall issue, to fund competitive grants or to provide support to stop teacher/educator layoffs. I am for the latter!

You can get link to Committee members' websites here.


David R. Obey, Wisconsin, Chairman http://www.obey.house.gov

Norman D. Dicks, Washington

Alan B. Mollohan, West Virginia

Marcy Kaptur, Ohio

Peter J. Visclosky, Indiana

Nita M. Lowey, New York

José E. Serrano, New York

Rosa L. DeLauro, Connecticut

James P. Moran, Virginia

John W. Olver, Massachusetts

Ed Pastor, Arizona

David E. Price, North Carolina

Chet Edwards, Texas

Patrick J. Kennedy, Rhode Island

Maurice D. Hinchey, New York

Lucille Roybal-Allard, California

Sam Farr, California

Jesse L. Jackson, Jr., Illinois

Carolyn C. Kilpatrick, Michigan

Allen Boyd, Florida

Chaka Fattah, Pennsylvania

Steven R. Rothman, New Jersey

Sanford D. Bishop Jr., Georgia

Marion Berry, Arkansas

Barbara Lee, California

Adam Schiff, California

Michael Honda, California

Betty McCollum, Minnesota

Steve Israel, New York

Tim Ryan, Ohio

C.A "Dutch" Ruppersberger, Maryland

Ben Chandler, Kentucky

Debbie Wasserman Schultz, Florida

Ciro Rodriguez, Texas

Lincoln Davis, Tennessee

John T. Salazar, Colorado

Patrick J. Murphy, Pennsylvania


Jerry Lewis, California, Ranking Member

C.W. Bill Young, Florida

Harold Rogers, Kentucky

Frank R. Wolf, Virginia

Jack Kingston, Georgia

Rodney P. Frelinghuysen, New Jersey

Todd Tiahrt, Kansas

Zach Wamp, Tennessee

Tom Latham, Iowa

Robert B.Aderholt, Alabama

Jo Ann Emerson, Missouri

Kay Granger, Texas

Michael K. Simpson, Idaho

John Abney Culberson, Texas

Mark Steven Kirk, Illinois

Ander Crenshaw, Florida

Dennis R. Rehberg, Montana

John R. Carter, Texas

Rodney Alexander, Louisiana

Ken Calvert, California

Jo Bonner, Alabama

Steven C. LaTourette, Ohio

Tom Cole, Oklahoma

— Monty Neill
e-mail discussion groups


This site contains copyrighted material the use of which has not always been specifically authorized by the copyright owner. We are making such material available in our efforts to advance understanding of education issues vital to a democracy. We believe this constitutes a 'fair use' of any such copyrighted material as provided for in section 107 of the US Copyright Law. In accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107, the material on this site is distributed without profit to those who have expressed a prior interest in receiving the included information for research and educational purposes. For more information click here. If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond 'fair use', you must obtain permission from the copyright owner.