Orwell Award Announcement SusanOhanian.Org Home

28 College Leaders Pledge 5 Percent of Earnings to Fight Poverty

Susan Notes:

Participants in the pledge give their donations directly to charities of their choice, under the condition that at least half of the contributions will benefit international projects.

First college presidents, then politicos, lobbyists, and hedge fund people.

by Jack Stripling

April 30, 2012

. . .Today, 28 current and former college leaders will publicly come forward as charter members of the Presidents' Pledge Against Global Poverty. In so doing, they commit to join Reverend Svennungsen [former president of Texas Lutheran University] by donating 5 percent of their total compensation this year to charities that fight global poverty.

The list includes presidents from liberal-arts colleges, religiously affiliated institutions, and a few research universities.

Here is the list of current and former college leaders who have signed up for the Presidents' Pledge Against Global Poverty:

MaryAnn Baenninger, president, College of Saint Benedict

Sister Linda Bevilacqua, president, Barry University

Sister Joanne Burrows, president, Clarke University

Gaylen J. Byker, president, Calvin College

Nancy Cantor, chancellor, Syracuse University

The Rev. Michael J. Garanzini, president, Loyola University Chicago

Tori Haring-Smith, president, Washington & Jefferson College

Walter Harrison, president, University of Hartford

Mark Heckler, president, Valparaiso University

The Rev. Dennis H. Holtschneider, president, DePaul University

John J. Hurley, president, Canisius College

Nannerl O. Keohane, president emerita, Duke University and Wellesley College

Steve LaNasa, president, Donnelly College

James T. Laney, president emeritus, Emory University

Jane Dammen McAuliffe, president, Bryn Mawr College

Margaret A. McKenna, president emerita, Lesley University

Mary J. Meehan, president, Alverno College

Shirley A. Mullen, president, Houghton College

Sister Anne Munley, president, Marywood University

Christopher B. Nelson, president, St. John's College at Annapolis

Lynn Pasquerella, president, Mount Holyoke College

Sister Mary Reap, president, Elms College

Kevin P. Reilly, president, University of Wisconsin system

George Rupp, president emeritus, Columbia and Rice Universities

Kenneth Starr, president, Baylor University

Sister Diane Steele, president, University of Saint Mary

The Rev. Ann M. Svennungsen, past president, Texas Lutheran University

Christopher M. Thomforde, president, Moravian College

— Jack Stripling
Chronicle of Higher Education



This site contains copyrighted material the use of which has not always been specifically authorized by the copyright owner. We are making such material available in our efforts to advance understanding of education issues vital to a democracy. We believe this constitutes a 'fair use' of any such copyrighted material as provided for in section 107 of the US Copyright Law. In accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107, the material on this site is distributed without profit to those who have expressed a prior interest in receiving the included information for research and educational purposes. For more information click here. If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond 'fair use', you must obtain permission from the copyright owner.